Re: TP Vendors

New Message Reply Date view Thread view Subject view Author view Attachment view

From: Bill Morrow (penzance_at_icanect.net)
Date: Wed May 26 1999 - 14:57:54 EDT


1. i don't advertise heavily,
2. the 570 is still hard to find..

rj wrote:

> Ummmm ... so why did not you purchase the 570 from Bill?
>
> On Wed, 26 May 1999, richard wrote:
>
> > I recently bought a 570 from pczone. The return address on the box was
> > pczone c/o airborne express warehouse (or something like that). I had the
> > feeling airborne is maintaining a huge warehouse somewhere in the midwest
> > and that vendors electronically transmit the buyer's name and address,
> > which is printed on a packing slip and mailing label and sent off, never
> > touched by the vendor's hands.
> >
> > BTW, the box came damaged. Pczones immediately shipped a replacement unit
> > (without charge) and paid return shipping on the old unit. I don't think
> > anyone (at least not online vendors) lets you return thinkpads other than
> > shipping damage or maybe DOA. For the most part, service consists of "call
> > IBM". The info we get from Bill Morrow vastly exceeds the level of service
> > or info from any computer vendor I've encountered.
> >
> > It amuses me that onsale.com claims to be selling at IBM's wholesale price,
> > and that a number of vendors undercut its prices, sometimes by a lot.
> > Either the vendors are making money on advertising or they are running at
> > losses while trying to increase revenue so they can do an IPO (if that's
> > still possible).
> >
> > At 01:07 PM 5/26/99 -0400, Bill Morrow wrote:
> > >There are several things to say here:
> > >1. Almost EVERYONE sells from the SAME warehouse.. there are a few, like
> > >Ingram, Marisel, Tek Data, et al.,
> > >2. SOME online el-cheapo vendors add "fees" that drive the price up..
> > >3. others make their $$ by having traffic on their web sites and selling
> > >advertising.. i.e. they sell ads, not hardware..
> > >4. SOME will tell you they have the hardware, but in reality, they don't..
> > >there is such a thing as "phantom stock"..
> >
> >

--
Live Long and Prosper, Happy trails...

** Bill Morrow ** :-) Compuserve Thinkpad(c) Forum Sysop WEB page http://thinkpads.com Thinkpad User Community: http://thinkpads.com/enter.html e-mail: bill_at_thinkpads.com, penzance_at_icanect.net 770Z-8AU, 760ED, 760CD, (5)701C, 560E, 755CE, 750C et al...

Including, but not limited to, Subject to prior sale, Your mileage will vary, Done on a closed road with a professional driver AND Do not try this at home..


New Message Reply Date view Thread view Subject view Author view Attachment view

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.1.3 : Thu Jan 23 2003 - 09:55:00 EST