Re: *****SPAM***** Re: [Thinkpad] List issues RBL?

From: Jonathan Graham <grahamj_at_virtue.cx>
Date: Wed Sep 03 2003 - 16:14:45 EDT

I used to work for AT&T Canada and I can assure you that (a) The sysadmins
would like to know if they are running an open relay. (b) An open relay has
nothing to do with spoofing an IP address. A server that checks output by
IP is a CLOSED server. See the difference? Open means anyone and his
brother can use it for anything. (c) If and ISP is having people spoofing
their IP address to get access to an SMTP server then they should check
their firewall rules. You can always restrict packets by interface. (d) If
for some reason you need to run a SMTP server external to your firewall then
you should be using an authentication mechanism. (e) As can happen all too
easily in any discussion involving polysylabic words - you miss the point.
This has nothing whatsoever to do with my rules. RBL lists are there to
help users AND ISP's. When an ISP gets blacklisted they often wish to know
as some corporations will reject RBL'ed mail outright. Nobody is telling
the ISP's to go anywhere.

J.

----- Original Message -----
From: "Bruce Markowitz" <scosgt@worldnet.att.net>
To: "Justin Philip" <exocomp.usa@verizon.net>
Cc: "Jonathan Graham" <grahamj@virtue.cx>; <scosgt@att.net>;
<thinkpad@stderr.org>
Sent: Wednesday, September 03, 2003 3:48 PM
Subject: Re: *****SPAM***** Re: [Thinkpad] List issues RBL?

> Cablevision and AT+T are probably the two biggest ISP in the world, so
many
> spammers will "spoof" their address to try to get through. All I can
suggest
> is to adjust your own filters, the ISP's are here to stay.

_______________________________________________
Thinkpad mailing list
Thinkpad@stderr.org
http://stderr.org/cgi-bin/mailman/listinfo/thinkpad
Received on Wed Sep 3 16:22:20 2003

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.1.8 : Fri May 26 2006 - 16:01:15 EDT