Re: *****SPAM***** Re: [Thinkpad] List issues RBL?

From: E Vaisanen <evaisanen_at_cogeco.ca>
Date: Wed Sep 03 2003 - 16:25:45 EDT

Couldn't resist jumping here this once.... :-)
(even though some of the recent flame wars have been better than recent
meteor showers!)

I dropped AT&TCanada as my ISP **because** it was an open relay
and email was being rejected by other ISPs...
Add that to lousy customer service and I was outta there....

btw, to keep this ontopic, I am typing this on my 600X! <grin>

cheers!
----- Original Message -----
From: "Jonathan Graham" <grahamj@virtue.cx>
To: "Bruce Markowitz" <scosgt@worldnet.att.net>
Cc: <thinkpad@stderr.org>
Sent: Wednesday, September 03, 2003 4:14 PM
Subject: Re: *****SPAM***** Re: [Thinkpad] List issues RBL?

> I used to work for AT&T Canada and I can assure you that (a) The sysadmins
> would like to know if they are running an open relay. (b) An open relay
has
> nothing to do with spoofing an IP address. A server that checks output by
> IP is a CLOSED server. See the difference? Open means anyone and his
> brother can use it for anything. (c) If and ISP is having people spoofing
> their IP address to get access to an SMTP server then they should check
> their firewall rules. You can always restrict packets by interface. (d) If
> for some reason you need to run a SMTP server external to your firewall
then
> you should be using an authentication mechanism. (e) As can happen all
too
> easily in any discussion involving polysylabic words - you miss the point.
> This has nothing whatsoever to do with my rules. RBL lists are there to
> help users AND ISP's. When an ISP gets blacklisted they often wish to know
> as some corporations will reject RBL'ed mail outright. Nobody is telling
> the ISP's to go anywhere.
>
> J.
>
> ----- Original Message -----
> From: "Bruce Markowitz" <scosgt@worldnet.att.net>
> To: "Justin Philip" <exocomp.usa@verizon.net>
> Cc: "Jonathan Graham" <grahamj@virtue.cx>; <scosgt@att.net>;
> <thinkpad@stderr.org>
> Sent: Wednesday, September 03, 2003 3:48 PM
> Subject: Re: *****SPAM***** Re: [Thinkpad] List issues RBL?
>
>
> > Cablevision and AT+T are probably the two biggest ISP in the world, so
> many
> > spammers will "spoof" their address to try to get through. All I can
> suggest
> > is to adjust your own filters, the ISP's are here to stay.
>
> _______________________________________________
> Thinkpad mailing list
> Thinkpad@stderr.org
> http://stderr.org/cgi-bin/mailman/listinfo/thinkpad
>

_______________________________________________
Thinkpad mailing list
Thinkpad@stderr.org
http://stderr.org/cgi-bin/mailman/listinfo/thinkpad
Received on Wed Sep 3 16:31:57 2003

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.1.8 : Fri May 26 2006 - 16:01:15 EDT