Re: *****SPAM***** Re: [Thinkpad] List issues RBL?

From: Bruce Markowitz <scosgt_at_worldnet.att.net>
Date: Wed Sep 03 2003 - 17:14:49 EDT

Probably when I did Reply All I also had their emails in the header, so they
go two copies, one directly from me.
----- Original Message -----
From: "David Ross" <ross@math.hawaii.edu>
To: <thinkpad@stderr.org>
Sent: Wednesday, September 03, 2003 4:38 PM
Subject: Re: *****SPAM***** Re: [Thinkpad] List issues RBL?

> > (b) An open relay has
> > nothing to do with spoofing an IP address. A server that checks output
by
> > IP is a CLOSED server.
>
> This is correct, and important. Last year a spammer used an Earthlink
relay
> to send out ads with my address spoofed in the reply field,
> I contacted Earthlink and while they wouldn't close the SMTP relay
> altogether (I still don't know why not), they did block outgoing email
with
> the math.hawaii.edu origin for me.
>
> All this said, I'm really puzzled why anything on this list would trigger
a
> spam blocker, since it all comes from the listserver at
> illuminati.stderr.org
>
> - David R.
>
> _______________________________________________
> Thinkpad mailing list
> Thinkpad@stderr.org
> http://stderr.org/cgi-bin/mailman/listinfo/thinkpad

_______________________________________________
Thinkpad mailing list
Thinkpad@stderr.org
http://stderr.org/cgi-bin/mailman/listinfo/thinkpad
Received on Wed Sep 3 17:14:11 2003

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.1.8 : Fri May 26 2006 - 16:01:15 EDT